VideoScope #102 Is In The House!

VS_102009.jpg

What a great cover, eh? Hats off to Cover Designer Kevin Hein. I see he’s sliiiiiiiightly played w/ the logo. Bevel and emboss, baby! I think it looks nice. Anyway, just look at those highlighted stories! The “B” Awards! Joe R. fucking Lansdale! Good shit can be found within this issue, available at better bookstores EVERYWHERE. Or better yet, subscribe! Or die! Somewhere, a demon with a clock laughs and laughs.

The Phantom had a fucking brutal obit column to pen…

VS_102_Obit_snap.jpg

And that’s not even a quarter of the deathtoll. But as Joe Kane says, “Fortunately for us, we can continue to access and enjoy their work via physical media and online sources.”

Go here. Subscribe or die, puny humans: videoscopemag.com

Okay, a bit of self-promotion: I am in the new ish of VS #102. I slammed PHANTASM: RAVAGER. It was one of the hardest pieces I’ve ever written.

Phantasm-Ravager-620-03

Because I was in the hospital and my fucking computer’s keyboard was busted and I had to write the review longhand even though my wrist was killing me, every sentence I scrawled was like D-Day Plus Ten, man, and I didn’t want to write a negative review of a new entry in a film series from a director (Don Coscarelli) and story and cast of actors I loved—Scrimm, Reggie, Baldwin…

But I wrote it anyway. My favorite nurse procured paper and pen for me. I had to fucking write it, man.

Ravager is a crass and soulless enterprise in exploiting a built-in audience... ” Oh, god. And it gets worse from there. I watched Ravager six times in the hospital and I hated it more each time. Wincing through the physical pain of writing of my very negative review, I felt that each jerky slash of my pen was stabbing a friend in the back, or killing my own brother.* I snapped my handwritten scrawl into its envelope and sent it off. (Actually, my friends Matthew and Loreen sent it off. I still wasn’t walking, then.)

phantasm-ravager-review

Reggie Bannister is still my hero.

Up the Irons, you lovable fools. Go buy the new ish of VideoScope. Or else.

* “Killing my own brother…” from Phantasm, OBLIVION

Ω

  • Calendar

    April 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Archives

  • Categories

  • Avail @ Amazon, B&N, iTunes, Smashwords, Everywhere

  • COMING SOON

  • COMING SOON